I Can Bleed For Days and Not Die

15 Feb

First, I’ve got to explain how the title and image relate. It’s not as sick as you think. In 1993 my girlfriend took a look at my music collection and discovered that I had very little music by women. A few days later she gave me a mix-tape titled “I Can Bleed for Days and Not Die: Super Mix of the 1990s.” The tape included music by Sweet Honey in the Rock, Soho, Tracy Chapman, Indigo Girls, Christine Lavin, Micehlle Shocked, Sarah McLachlan, and Kate Bush. It also featured a photo of “Miss Half Pint” photocopied on the cover. So, seventeen years later, my music collection has grown to include many female artists, but no Sweet Honey in the Rock, Soho, Tracy Chapman, Indigo Girls, Christine Lavin, Micehlle Shocked, Sarah McLachlan, or Kate Bush.

Brighest Hour – The Submarines [Play] The Camel’s Back – PSAPP [Play] Jesus Saves, I Spend – St. Vincent [Play] Naked, If I Want To* – Cat Power [Play] Ne’er Do Well – Young People [Play] Ne Me Demande Pas – Clarika [Play] Nice Thick Feathers – Russian Red [Play] Rowdy Blues – Be Good Tanyas [Play] Someday – Alice Russell [Play] Star Witness – Neko Case [Play]

*Actually a cover of a Moby Grape tune

3 Responses to “I Can Bleed For Days and Not Die”

  1. Carrie February 16, 2010 at 12:13 am #

    Beautiful songs.

  2. Mojo's Mixtapes February 16, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    Almost forgot Petra Haden: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_8Iy2PiH7g

  3. e February 16, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    no pj harvey? for shame.

Leave a Reply

